Home Sports Sachin Tendulkar scales 10,000 MS Dhoni India suffer T20 World Cup heartbreak...

Sachin Tendulkar scales 10,000 MS Dhoni India suffer T20 World Cup heartbreak : March 31 in history


  • India were knocked out of T20 World Cup 2016 on March 31, 2016
  • MS Dhoni‘s India were outplayed by West Indies in the semi-final in Mumbai
  • Sachin Tendulkar had become the 1st batsman to score 10,000 ODI runs on this day in 2001

It was perfectly set up for India to reach their 1st-ever T20 World Cup final at home. A power-packed Indian team, led by MS Dhoni, took on powerhouses West Indies in the semi-final of the 2016 World T20 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

However, their run at home ended after a heartbreaking 7-wicket defeat in a thriller that saw a see-saw battle between India and West Indies.

sachin vs dhoni.jpg

On the evening of March 31, 2016, India were sent in to bat on a belter of a wicket at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai by Darren Sammy-led West Indies.

India were given a steady start by Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane who added 62 runs for the opening stand in just 7.2 overs. Rohit was the 1st man to depart as leg-spinner Samuel Badree trapped the Mumbai Indians captain in front.

However, Mumbai witnessed a Virat Kohli special. The star batsman had headed into the match after having played a blinder against Australia in their final group game. He continued from where he left against Australia.

dhoni vs sachin.jpg

Kohli smashed 89 from just 47 balls, smashing 11 boundaries and a six and scored at a strike rate of 189. Kohli stitched a 66-run stand for the 2nd wicket with Ajinkya Rahane and a 64-run stand with the then captain MS Dhoni who was happy to give the strike to Kohli during the power-packed knock.

India posted 192 for 2 on the board and it looked like the hosts had enough to clinch a spot in their 2nd successive T20 World Cup final.

However, Lendl Simmons and Andre Russell had other ideas. India could not have asked for a better start with the ball as they removed Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels cheaply inside the 1st 3 overs.

However, young opener Johnson Charles took the attack to the India bowlers, smashing 52 from just 36 balls.


However, India clawed back with the wicket of Charles in the 14th over and left West Indies to get 73 runs in the last 6 overs.
Then came the fireworks from the blades of Samuels and Russell. The two attacking batsmen took the Indian bowlers to the cleaners and sealed a memorable win for West Indies.

In fact, MS Dhoni handed the responsibility of bowling the final over to Virat Kohli who had to defend 8 runs.

West Indies eventually went on to win the T20 World Cup on April 03, 2016 after a nail-bitter against England in the final at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

March 31 in history: Sachin Tendulkar scales Mt. 10,000 in ODI cricket


Sachin Tendulkar, on March 31 of 2001, became the 1st batsman to score 10,000 runs in ODI cricket. Tendulkar achieved the feat in an ODI against Australia in Indore.

There are only 14 batsmen in world cricket who have scored more than 10,000 runs in ODI cricket.

Sachin Tendulkar is the second fastest to get to the landmark as his record was broken by India captain Virat Kohli on October 24, 2018. While Tendulkar had taken 259 innings to get there, Kohli needed just 205 to achieve the 10,000-run mark in ODI cricket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Delhi University examination latest news 2020 | UGC new update on final year students

Delhi universality information Hello, everyone. Welcome to Moe's location guys...

Actor Jagdeep Dies: Hindi cinema to a more shock,’ Surma Bhopali ‘ Jagdeep

Veteran Bollywood actor-comedian Jagdeep dies at 81 New Delhi, Jeana. Bollywood film industry by consistently bad news in front of the wind is. Now more Surma Bhopali ' Jagdeep...

Vikas Dubey Arrested In Ujjain

Big breaking news coming in play husband arrested by police officer arrested with prime accused...

Story of 5 big mafias of UP / More than 200 cases of murder, robbery, and recovery.

 Mukhtar Ansari 's against 40 of the worst case would have, her two sons millionaires are, his brother Afzal Ansari Ghazipur to MP 's    Notorious criminal Badan Singh Bddo to 2.5 million in prize stated is, the last 15 months the police to her a clue not get found is Dainik Bhaskar Jul 08, 2020, 12:08 PM IST

Recent Comments